A Milifandom vs. Mayllenials fandom war isn’t going to do any shit: An open letter

Dear Abby Tomlinson,

                Just like you, I’ve also found the existence of the Mayllennials an unexpected thing. Just as I found it unexpected that Ed Miliband still has a fandom after standing down as Labour leader in 2015. You and I, we are just young women, about to hit our 20s, who have taken a liking in the comings and goings of British Politics.

                And like you, I joined a politician’s fandom because I found them hot. I found Justin Trudeau hot, I jointed the Truhearts. I found Theresa May hot, I joined the Mayllennials. I found Emmanuel Macron hot, I am now part of the Emmanuel Macron fandom whose name has yet to be decided upon. Lastly, I too, am a part of the Milifandom thanks to the Ed Miliband fan blogs all over Tumblr that introduced me to him when I first sparked interest in British Politics.

                However, I stop short of agreeing absolutely to their policies. I disagree with how Justin Trudeau’s government has not paid attention to the First Nations (the indigenous people of Canada). I disagree with how Theresa May wants to include the re-legalization of Fox Hunting in the Conservative Party manifesto. Heck, I’m quite doubtful over Emmanuel Macron’s ability to unite the upper class and working class of France, due to his background of being the “candidate of the corporations”. Lastly, I disagree with Ed Miliband wanting to control UK’s immigration, a strategy, which I understand, he did in order to split the right-wing vote and deliver more votes to Labour.

                It has come to my attention that you throw petty insults to politicians you hate, but that’s okay, because I do that too. Here’s the thing – unlike myself, you are not just a fangirl of Ed Miliband now, you have morphed into a serious political figure – and that is a good thing for somebody who wants a serious future in politics. Unlike myself, I am still far from having a serious future in politics (and I doubt I’d ever consider having a political career of some sort, but that is up for consideration), while you, are already there.

Which brings me to the next point, in politics, petty insults begets petty insults (you’ve seen that in PMQs, come on! Whether it’s Theresa May, or your beloved Ed Miliband on the dispatch box, who is facing off against the party opposite to them). That my dear, is why you should not be butthurt when in the next few days, you may receive petty insults for the things you said about the Theresa May equivalent of your Milifandom. That’s because the way you reacted to them is like as if you’re reacting to a political party, rather than reacting to a fandom that is ready to call out on their fave whenever she makes a problematic policy.

                But, I doubt the Mayllennials would want to start a fandom war with your Milifandom. Both fandoms, are just fandoms at the end of the day, and not political parties. Leave the serious debates on policy to the respective parties of Theresa and Ed. At the end of the day, Theresa and Ed have two things in common – having an unflattering photo while eating in public AND having a set of dedicated fangirls to rally behind them when they’re not making bad policies.

                It’s alright to point out that you don’t like a politician, but for heaven’s sake, fandom wars are not the solution to making sure your party wins. If you think that doesn’t work, just take a look at the Canadian Politics fandoms – you’ve got the Truhearts on one side and the Rontourage (Rona Ambrose’s fans) on the other side; Some are in both fandoms, and most of the people in those fandoms know where to draw the line between fandom and political debate. That’s how they are able to co-exist.

                I know it’s sad for you to know that your beloved Milifandom’s spotlight is overshadowed by the Mayllenials, but calling them rubbish isn’t going to solve anything. It might just give you the spotlight for all the wrong reasons, which I am certain, is not what you wish for.

From one “political commentator” to another,

Sofia D.

Leave a Reply

